Be the first to hear about new products, compliance innovations and how we can support your business

* indicates required


The Fleet Operator Recognition Scheme (FORS) is a voluntary accreditation scheme that promotes best practice for commercial vehicle operators. Using a progressive three-tiered scheme (Bronze, Silver Gold) it recognises safer, greener and more efficient fleet operations. CKO can assist you in meeting all your FORS safety requirements.  FORS encompasses all aspects of safety, efficiency, and environmental protection by enabling fleet operators to measure, monitor and improve performance. FORS provides accreditation pathways for operators of any type, and for those organisations that award contracts and specify transport requirements.

FORS Bronze, Silver and Gold membership provides progressive accreditation enabling operators to achieve exemplary levels of best practice. FORS members stand out from the crowd, work to standards above the legal minimum and have access to a wide range of exclusive benefits that provide a real competitive advantage.

FORS is relevant to commercial operators in three classes: Trucks (V5)  Vans (V2) and Passenger carrying vehicles (PCV – V6). Some specific measures apply to particular clases.

  • Trucks – commercial vehicles over 3.5 tonnes gross vehicle weight
  • Vans –  commercial vehicles of 3.5 tonnes gross vehicle weight or under
  • PCV’s Any vehicle with 8 or more passenger carrying seats

FORS compliance

BRONZE accreditation level

In order to be awarded FORS Bronze accreditation companies must demonstrate and record how they are able to meet each of the standards set out in the guidance under the headings:

  • Management
  • Vehicles
  • Drivers
  • Operations

In general terms the Bronze accreditation can be achieved with a thorough review of and updating of current policies, procedures, operational and systems management. Safety equipment can assist with measures of driver infractions, incident insurance reporting and evidence and vulnerable road user safety and signage. In addition all companies registering for Bronze accreditation after 2016 must have reversing alarms to all vehicles over 3.5 tonnes gross weight.

SILVER and GOLD accreditation level

To achieve accreditation for FORS Silver & Gold companies must demonstrate the use of more detailed and specific safety systems such as Audible Warning Systems and Blind Spot minimisation.

CKO have a number of packages to assist with all your accreditation needs.

B . CLOCS Work Related Road Risk (WRRR)

The CLOCS standard (Construction Logistics and Community Safety) vision is to ‘fundamentally change the way the construction industry manages work related road risk (WRRR)’ and raise awareness of cyclists and other vulnerable road users.  One element of the workstream on improving vehicle safety relates to the ‘fitment of appropriate safety equipment to existing vehicles’ and for TfL contracts the WRRR requirements. They will also be delivering the Safer Lorry Scheme (SLS) for all HGV’s entering or operating in London.

How to comply with Vehicle Safety Requirements under WRRR

  • Warning signage – audible and flashing signs and alarms available
  • Side under-run protection – as fitted by factory or retrospectively
  • Blind spot minimisation – mirrors, close proximity and detection systems, camera and monitor systems, collision avoidance alerts
  • Vehicle manoeuvring warnings – external audible warnings for use with reversing camera systems, recordable devices with reversing triggers.


Be the first to hear about new products and offers and see how you’ve helped

* indicates required